TPO 45- In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

Our decisions, when we are young, are an indispensable part of our life. Each decision, first, shape our mindset and then our characteristic which these two are the prime factors defines a human being. Some may say, today young people are more able to make decisions about their own lives because their parents have better viewpoints about life rather very long ago. In my opinion, however, nowadays there are more obstacles for young on the road to their independence.

First off, the very difference between the past and now is the advance of technology, which in my view had some benefits to people, but overall disadvantages for young people. When children spend most of their time playing a video game and making YouTube videos, there will be no time left for them to spend outside with their friends in actual life, not virtual, and learn about the basic harsh lows of their environment. These lows make them stronger and more self-dependent. For example, I have a 14 years old brother and he is always playing a mobile game name Clash-Of-Clans, in anywhere at any time, parties, before sleep, after sleep and so on. My parents never allow him to go to school or do something by himself because they do not believe that he is capable of comprehending what is going on in the actual world. On the other hand, when I was ten, I was at home only for sleep or food, and my family counted on me for doing their works, like casual shopping. So, I had a lot of chances to make decisions and to learn how to make these decisions, because I do not have the technology to enchain me at indoor and restrict me from going out.

Second, a lot of countries are in a war now and some might be in a war in a relatively close future and governments of some countries are getting irrational decisions every day which affect our lives. Today we live in this crazy and dangerous world which consequently obtain us with harsher circumstances' of living. When there would be more danger in a community, parents afraid of letting their children to on their own. For instance, in my country, Iran, people protest every day in streets and police and other powerful communities attack defenseless people in valleys and streets. In this situation, parents would not allow their children to face real an ugly world like this, which result in young children's deficiency in making more decision for themselves.

In sum, the dependency of children on their family would be more severe through time not only because of harsh community we are living today but also because of the disadvantages of technology which separates children from the real world. In my view, this would be much worse in the future.