TPO-46 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and examp

As an age featuring the rapid exchange of information, people's opinion can be spread out and be heard across the world in one night. Being exposed under the spotlight, the behavior and words of celebrities are accessible on all kinds of social media and podcasts, shaping people's opinions imperceptibly. Some people argue that young people can be more easily influenced by their opinion than opder people and I am in favor of the statement from the following perspective.

To begin with, the difference over preference for information sources give rise to the different levels of being influenced by celebrities' thoughts. The olderly prefers to gain information from traditional presses such as newspapers and books, which gives fair comments about current issues considering both the positive and negative aspect, while young people access most of their information from social media and magazines, where the quality of news varies. One tends to post their persuasive thoughts without a second thought and fierece discussions are triggered based on this, exposing the young under a circumstance filled with the most popular news. The posts of celebrities, as a large component constituting the social media, are of particular interest to the young people.

Furthermore, lack of critical thinking ability to make wise decisions among young people accounts for the difference. If you ask kids what they want to in the future, they probably would reply rock stars or video game players as these are ranked as the coolest and appealing among all. On the contrary to adults, who are capable of forming their own opinions based on what they are told, children are more inclined to believe what they see due to incomprehensive knowledge. Therefore, they are more likely to believe what said by the celebrities they love, which makes their opinions more critical than ever. Over the past years, the increasing number of cases of teenage problems related to alchohol and drug abusing is a direct consequence of following and imitating the behaviors of celebrities without making their own judgement.

In conclusion, young people generally pay more attention to the opinions of celebrities due to the exposure under social media and lack of critical thinking ability. Therefore, the behavior of celebrities inflence far more than themselves and should be appropriate in the public.