TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

The society we live in represents an important part of our lives. The interaction with other people affects our behavior within a community whether we experience happiness or sorrows. Many people support the claim that friendships with few people during a long-term are crucial for happiness more than making a lot of friends easily; others would disagree. As far as I am concerned, I agree that maintaining friendships with a small range of people is much beneficial to our happiness than having numerous friends easily for two essential reasons.

First, the main reason is that it would create a strong relationship. Having few friends during a long period will definitely solidify the friendship and build up sort of a mutual understanding. This means that the other person (friend) understand deeply in a way that he or she can provide you the necessary happiness via numerous ways. For example, in my college days, I had only two close friends that I met in the dormitory. During the academic year, I experienced difficulties to digest some courses, so it did irritate me for a while. I didn't speak to anyone about this bothering matter, even my two closest friends, but as we spend years with each other we became very knowledgable of each other very well. My friends can easily assume what is bothering me by distinguishing the personal problems from the academic issues. Therefore, They tried to address my problem with delinquency according to the matter which was, in this case, providing me with extra tutoring hours regarding the courses that I had issues by the pretext of a group study and they alleviated all the ambiguity I had. As you can see, long-term friendships are important to establish happiness in our life.

Second, it would raise the level of trust between friends. When you have many friends, you cannot focus on each one of them and by consequence, you cannot have a strong trustworthy friendship. The latter would create serenity and happiness when you are surrounded by them. For instance, my uncle, a businessman who encounter a lot of people in his domain, the majority of whom he considered as close friends. One day my uncle had a business downfall, and he lost every penny because of some precipitate decisions he made during that time. Surprisingly for him, he never imagined that the myriad of friends that he had that time turned on him with such cruelty. Not only they did not offer any moral or physical help but some they stubbed him in the back since they were hatching a diabolical plan to take him down. This experience unveils how the happiness of a person comes with the friends you trust not with the huge number of friends you have your repertoire.

In sum, though some may oppose my reasoning. I genuinely believe that the small number of friendships the person have over a long period in life are much important for the well-being than having so many friends that you can acquire so easily. Not only will put the basis of a strong relationship but also it would build up a solid and trustful friendship. People should care more about implementing long-term friendships rather than getting new ones with ease.