TPO 49

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, it is better to make many new friends in instead of having few friends for a long period because a large number of friends make our relationships less boring and tedious and a wide range of friends could provide an extensive social network which could be beneficial in many aspects like job finding. In addition, if a misunderstanding would occur in friendships, we can make other new friends it is not necessary to have long friendships with few people.

First of all, the point and purpose in social interactions and making friends is that we want to have fun and spend an enjoyable time with our friends. If we make friends with few people for a long time, we may get bored gradually; because we may not have many interests in common and we may not match in many aspects. So, they may enjoy and spend time on those activities in which we are not interested. For example, many people like play soccer on filed or by video games while I like to go to bodybuilding or ping pong. After a while, typically I would get bored because I do not enjoy their favorite activities especially if I would not be able to make new friends. By contrast, if I would be able to do so, I can find people who have the same entertainment interests as mine. Thus, I will cement a good an enjoyable friendship with them that will make me happier.

Second, if we make few friends for a long time, we would not be able to establish a useful social network. This social network could be helpful for many things. For example, if we make a lot of friends, we may interact and set up a relationship who have good contacts in my business or job. If I am seeking a job after leaving my current job, he can introduce me as a new employee or client. Otherwise, a limited number of friends cannot result in such benefits for us. As a result, we would be happier if we would have nice friends who help us to find a job, find a scholarship for college or help in dangerous situations.

All in all, I think we should cement appropriate and useful friendships whenever and wherever it was possible; for example in college, new work environment etc. In general, in addition to the mentioned benefits, making a lot of friends also other social phycological benefits about which I had not the opportunity to discuss.