TPO 5: Do you Agree/Disagree.

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment -doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this world, there are things that can not be replaced; and this makes them priceless. Time is one of them. Accepting this, it becomes clear that one should spend this precious gift as best as one can. I accept that, unfortunately, there are many people who spend their time doing what they like to do, instead of devoting it to valuable activities. In my opinion, this is a wrong route to take because of the demerits of this way of life which are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, people do not worry about their health enough. In fact, taking care of their body is not a priority for them. Today, the majority of people are somehow addicted to eating fast foods instead of healthy and organic nutrients. This addiction directly affects one’s health by causing blood pressure or heart problems, to name but a few. Furthermore, people are used to hanging around with their friends in the streets. Doing so, they are losing the chance to work out in a gym or park. Consequently, they will get fat and suffer the disorders resulted by that. Moreover, Using cars instead of public transportation, people are harming themselves; as more cars mean more air pollution and more problems concerning one’s body, especially one’ lungs. Therefore, valuing one’s health results in nothing but benefits.

In addition, people do not manage their free times appropriately. Most of them are attached to the social media and receive useless information rather than reading books which will improve their attitudes. Also, people devote an enormous part of their time to watching television and movies. No one is against watching a good film; however, the problem emerges when a person reduces their resting time in order to watch TV; and will unnoticeably lose their working efficiency and concentration. Furthermore, people nowadays are ignoring their families in their free times. They spend a lot of time doing previously mentioned activities, like hanging around with friends; as a result, they do not have enough time to devote to their family. This is a bad habit as one’s family is where one can solve problems and communicate with people who care for one the most.

To sum it up, people should reconsider their actual habits in their lives. As mentioned above, there are two alternatives to be taken in order to improve one's life habits. In my perspective, people will benefit more by taking care of their health as well as spending their free times in a better way. There is a famous quote saying that: “Time is gold!”. However, I think that time is gold only when it is used in the correct way.