TPO 5 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do

I think human beings have increased the quality of their life continuously throughout history. They first resided in cave to protect them from fierce animals, harsh warmth, and frigidity and this was the first step into welfare. Therefore, I believe our life is much comfortable in comparison to older generation like the grandparents. Thanks to the latest medical breakthroughs human life expectancy dramatically raised. We are surrounded by many facilities which make life comfortable. Besides, we have more democratic, impartial and equal society.

First, it goes, without doubt, recent medical advances considerably decrease fertility rate and overall life expectancy increase. In groom days of the past people may have perished for a mere cold, but today we have vaccines for a variety of illnesses which immune us against diseases. Furthermore, hospitals and medical staff are abundant which makes them accessible for all members of community.

Second, technology have brought us plenty of inventions which comfort our life. Inventions and discoveries such as electricity, the internet, computers, petroleum, etc. For instance, using internet and computer, online shopping is available. While you are seating at your desk, order whatever you want like delicious pizza or even a suit! Plus, many of these devices are affordable, and the majority of people can utilize them.

Ultimately, we enjoy many social developments which guarantee peace, security, and freedom in our society. According to the UN annual report, with the passage of time, nations of the world are becoming more democratic, and the gender gap will vanish soon across the globe. In the past, women were taken account of housework, and they did not participate in social activities. Fortunately, this kind of discriminations have abolished in many areas, and even they can be nominated for power positions.

For all the reasons that I have stated, I assume that our generation has a more convenient life in comparison to the grandparent's generation. We not only are inundated with fruits of technology which increase our longevity and relieve human pains but also we have unbiased societies. No matter what your ethnicity, gender or religion are, you are capable of prospering.