TPO-50 - Independent Writing Task

Throughout history, in all modern societies, history is an essential part of each nation that will represent its culture. There is a heated debate among students that whether its better for them to take the history course or not. Some of them think that they should know about the historical background of the country that they born, while others see this as a waste of their time and they should get some related courses to their major field of study. With all of the undeniable merits, I, personally, firmly disagree about taking history courses should be mandatory in the universities. I will substantiate my outstanding reasons in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, History courses are just useful for the students that they are majoring in history. For other students, getting this course is just a waste of time. In addition, students better to get some specific advanced courses from their major field of study. For instance, I am majoring in mathematical science, but I forced to get the history course last year because there was no advanced course available with the empty spot. Moreover, I have been forced to spend part of my time on the history projects and presentation, and this results in allocating very less time to the main courses. As a result, I passed all of my courses, but could not to learn some essential skill in my major.

Secondly, History courses might be boring for the type of students that do not interact with memorizing type of classes. Therefore, they would be frustrated during classes and they might start to distract other's attention by making interruptions in the class and get penalized eventually by the professor. To demonstrate let me tell you an example about my friend that was majoring in electrical engineering. He was forced to pass the history as a mandatory course because of the policy of the staff of electrical engineering. Additionally, He starts to have some conflict with the history professor during the first session by showing him a disrespectful attitude. He showed up late on the classes, even sometimes with thirty minutes delay. Although, Since the content of this course was boring for him, He always playing with his mobile or sometimes asleep in the class. As a result at the end of the semester, he could not pass this course because of this attitude, and he was very disappointed because of the policy of the university. He even filled a complaint to the university newsletter to explain why he and most of his colleagues do not like history and any non-related courses.

All in all, with all of the undeniable advantages of history courses, there should not be any mandatory history course for the none-related field of studies. Forcing students to get the history courses not only will stop them to improve adequately for the major skills of their field but also it will lower of their grade because of the student's attitude toward this course.