TPO-50 - Independent Writing Task

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that history play a prominent role in all societies. Regarding this idea, some people may hold the view that, in universities students should be required to take history courses no matter their field of study is. Dou to the fact that we can learn huge experience about historical events that maybe repeated in future like wars and we can avoid these unnecessary actions. In contrary, others look at this issue through different lens and disagree it. In my vantage point, the latter view is true. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two important reasons.

The first focal point that prompts me to hold this view is that universities should generates experts in specific fields. Because we now live in a very complicated and modern age that everything needs it’s knowledge. For example, last term students from different field in university write a letter about irrelevant courses and wanted to eliminate these courses from their prospect courses. They argues that, instead of wasting time in unnecessary courses like history or polotetion, they can spend more time on their field of study and became expert at it. Also they mention that companies and factories required skilled student that can solve their problems and invent new methods. Their requirement is not possible unless, student they take more courses in their field. I would like to mention a research about successful students in their jobs. This research shows that the more students take courses in their field, the more they have the chance to get a decent job with high salary. In addition, they can increase gross domestic production by generating knowledge.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance in this subject is throw out psychological point, students refute to learn something that they are not interested. For instance, after writing that letter university president asked from professors in psychologic department to conduct a research about whether students learn and make advantage of irrelevant courses or not. The result of this research was astonishing. Over ninety percent of students states that they don’t pay attention at these classes actully, they prefer play with mobiles phone or surf the internet. Another ten percent didn’t even take part in classes. They would like stay at home or spend time with friend in cafeteria.

In conclusion, some people agree that students should not take irrelevant courses like history in university and I deeply believe in that. Not only do students refute to learn irrelevant courses, but also university should generates experts in specific fields. All universities should provide courses that are relevant to students field.