TPO 53 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, the government always confronts the dilemma of whether to spend more money on improving Internet access or improving public transportation. While some people are inclined towards the idea that the government should allocate considerable money to improving Internet access, others, on the other hand, are against this idea. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that the advantages of investing in developing public transportation are immense and indisputable in comparison to the Internet. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that a prosperous public transportation system can positively influence people's health and well-being. Nowadays, the number of people suffering from chronic diseases like diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases has increased substantially. It is scientifically proven that the primary cause of this increasing trend is the sedentary lifestyle caused by using private vehicles. In contrast to cars, using public transportation involves some moving and walking when changing bus stops and train stations. As a consequence, people's physical activities will escalate by this investment because advanced public transportation encourages many people to shift from their cars to public transport. For instance, the result of the study in my town has shown that the development of public transportation has escalated people's physical activities 4 hours a week.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that in this way the government is able to tackle countless environmental issues. In the modern world, air pollution gives rise to global warming that leads to numerous adverse consequences like threatening animal specie’s lives, melting glaciers, and climate change. The main cause of these serious problems is the extensive exploitation of fossil fuels. However, devoting a reasonable amount of budget to developing public transport can solve these problems since public transportation systems are electric or use renewable sources of energy. Besides, the amount of fossil fuels that are consumed by public transportation is less compared to personal automobiles.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, it is crystal clear that the government should prioritize spending money to improve public transportation. The first merit of this decision is that it improves public health. Moreover, with this attitude, the government can deal with various problems related to the environment.