TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It’s hard to deny that arts enrich our spiritual world, and such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that our government should spent more on arts instead of athletics. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. I strongly hold that our government should allocate resources equally between athletics and arts.

First of all, arts pass on previous skills and spiritual treasures generation by generation to form a unique culture. To illustrate, The Louvre in Paris, one of the most famous museums in this world, is keeping plenty of mysterious and interesting holdings, such as Venus and Mona Lisa. Even now, these cultural relics unremittingly induce various imagination, which produce uncountable books and movies. These works record the history facts as well as the current events, representing the existence of humans.

However, the great importance of arts doesn’t mean that athletics should be ignored. Promoting physical activities helps everyone exercise more and enjoy a healthier life. Nothing can be done without a fit body. What’s more, people who exercise regularly live a self-regulated life, which improves their working and studying efficiency. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman in the university, I seldom went to the playground and spent all time learning, but things didn’t develop as I expected, for I didn’t perform well in my classes. Then I realized that it was time to change. Exercising gradually became part of my life. I lived a more balanced life and my academic performance had also improved a lot. This example vividly demonstrates how important the athletics can be for ordinary people.

In conclusion, governments should spend equal money in supporting athletics and arts. Athletics stand for our physical strength and arts stand for our mental strength. Only with both of them can we live a better life.