TPO 6 Task 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement. Life is easier and more comfortable today than it was when your grandparents were children.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that since the dawn of humanity, human lives have undergone dramatic changes. When it comes to this point, a lot of people are on the conviction that life is easier nowadays than when our ancestors lived; while others stand on the opposite side of the continuum, and believe that with the advent of technology human beings have encountered severe problems. I agree with the first idea, and in the ensuing paragraph, I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First, with the arrival of technology, transportation made a plethora of task more convenient. Travelling in the past was done by walking or riding animals, and need arduous efforts and a lot of time. Still, the invention of vehicles, among which are airplanes, cars, and trains, made travelling to the most remote areas of the word reachable. Moreover, fast transporting brings about access to an abundance of imported products such as fruit, meat, etc. For example, my grandfather once told me that they travelled by horses and the shortest trip took long about two weeks. A funny story he told me was about the time that the banana first arrived in his city by new cars and trunks. Because the banana was not domestic, they did not know what it is, and how they should eat it.

Another noteworthy reason for supporting my idea is that modern communication methods provide people with the easiest and fastest way of becoming aware of others throughout the world. It goes without saying that the internet, mobiles, and other means of communication are more comfortable than old-fashioned methods like letters. To put it into a more vivid picture, when my uncle was soldier, and he was defending our barriers in a war, his family was always worried and stressful about his situations because there was no mean of communication except for letters.

On the other hands, my brother is studying engineering abroad, and every day we make a video call and talk to each other. It can be concluded that the more communication ways thrive, the more lives become more comfortable.

To wrap it up, according to the mentioned reasons, I think that now it is clear why life is more comfort nowadays rather than the past. It was just the story in a nutshell; and there are more reasons, such as better sanitation, mechanization of tasks, to name but a few, that should be considered.