TPO 65: Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Notwithstanding some people think receiving equivalent grades is the best approach in group projects, I am of the conviction that this attitude is not an efficient assessment of the students. I feel this way due to a couple of reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, I think in this situation, gained grades will not be fair, since not all the students in a group do the same job and put equal effort to solve the problems, so some of the members may get a free ride. I should admit that my opinion on this matter is influenced by my personal experiences. When I was involved in a group project at the end of my last semester at university, I had a classmate that was on our team. We all were under noticeable pressure because of other exams and projects that we had. I try to work hard on this particular project while my coworker never participated enough in doing it. She preferred to study more on other courses and gave me loads of unconvincing excuses to not help. As a result, even though we got a top grade on our project, I felt that is not fair for me if we have the same grades while in fact, I did our assignment alone.

Moreover, giving the whole members a similar mark may discourage students to devote time and energy to do the task in the best way because everyone thinks that other members are responsible too and they will give the right solution and response to tasks. I mean, the individuals do not feel the responsibility and the burden of the project as enough as it motivates them to work. For example, my roommate at the dormitory had a group project but she did not have an incentive to work on it, every time I told her that she ought to start doing their duties, she said that she is waiting for other members to begin the project since they all would receive same grades. Eventually, they finished their task at the last minute with lots of shortages. Hence, all get a low grade, while each of them was top students, so this same grading caused that their mark did not evaluate their knowledge accurately.

To sum up, I believe that giving various grades to each person in teamwork is a much better idea. This is because justice and encourage students to show all their abilities.