TPO 65 Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good

Group work is an inadequate section in all educational situations that coheres students together and makes ideas smash and generate new sparks. Meanwhile, it comes to a belief that measures students' performance by giving credits to each member in equal is more effective, however, I believe that it does not benefit students by giving them equal credits for the group work. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in my essay.

To begin with, it is relatively unfair for the students who participate more. I think it is fair to say that the free-rider problem inevitably exists in all group works. However, some students who did the additional pieces for those free riders will not get what they deserve. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I recall a group assignment in my high school government class, which required writing an essay about the constitution in a four-member group. Unfortunately, no group member except me was interested in this topic, and no one made any progress until the last night of the deadline. Consequently, I had to finish all works for my team.

Furthermore, some students who were initially motivated may be discouraged by this evaluation system. Some students are not only inspired by the topic of the assignment but also from the confidence that they are about to reach a high score. However, it is fair to say that most people are not likely to share their efforts. For instance, some professors grade students group projects by their overall performance in my college and distribute the credits to each student. One of my friends who was not satisfied with her score contended that she suddenly felt half of her efforts was wasted and lost all motivation to follow that professor, even she was enthusiastic about this subject before taking it.

Finally, the purpose of giving equal credits to all group members is supposed to encourage team spirits. However, the effect may develop adversely. As far as I experienced, helping others understand in some situations is struggling, and few people would pay their patience. Sometimes, I even hard to bear the low-efficient from my group members and voluntarily take their tasks at my speed. In turn, students who did not master the content may fail to get assistant at last.

In conclusion, I think it is a mistake to grade all participants in a group without differences. This is because each participant does not pay the same amount of effort to gain a grade, and it makes students feel unfair to lose the credits they expected. Moreover, the spirit of group work falls into an opposite effect and results in an enlarged differentiation between students.