TPO1

Controversy exists over whether the amount of financial support that is given to sports and social activities by universities and colleges should be equivalent to that of classes and libraries. I believe, however, sports and social activities are by far more important than classes and libraries since they help students enhance their personal lives, develop social skills, and make progress in their academic studies.

The first aspect to point out is that sports and social activities have a positive influence on students’ personal lives. Gathering together to do sports helps students take a break from hectic life and unwind by playing their favorite sports. Consider students who go to sports clubs after their classes. Not only can this activity make them more energetic, but also they may forget about their exam failures. Moreover, some despondent students, who are doing badly in their exams, may have another opportunity to prove their abilities while taking part in sports competitions and feel pleased with themselves. That is to say, the sense of accomplishment which is gained from doing sports can raise their self-esteem.

Another more subtle point is that students can improve their social life through sports and social activities. Joining social groups enables students to socialize with their friends and cement their relationships. Students from different parts of the world, who may have diverse viewpoints, can spend time together and share ideas. Furthermore, sports clubs can provide programs to help extremely introverted students develop social skills. Exciting carefully planned competitions get shy students to join them and practice spending time with other people.

Finally yet importantly, taking part in sports and having social activities assist students in achieving progress in their studies. Competing in sports teaches students how to make determined efforts to succeed. Hardly does anyone make progress without an incentive. Some coaches can inspire their players to struggle for their dreams. They psychologically boost their morale to try hard, and they can stimulate them to make the same efforts for their studies to acquire better grades. In addition, students who attend clubs tend to do things on schedule to maintain a balance between their social activities and university tasks. Although they may find carrying out the plan tough, they soon notice its tangible benefits through their superb performance at both university and club.

To summarize, it is a wise decision to consider sports and social activities to acquire more financial support than classes and libraries due to making students improve their personal life, intensify social skills, and achieve progress in their studies. In fact, studying is not the student’s whole life. It is high time we stopped focusing on improving classes and libraries and overlooking the fact that student's physical and mental health is closely connected with doing sports and social activities. That is why, the more facilities we offer them, the better we make college students reach their goals.