TPO29

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

times New Roman"; color: rgb(58, 58, 58); font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;">

When it comes to career, the university professor is a noble profession and has a tremendous amount of knowledge to educate the students in the education institution. they play a pivotal role in the education system. some argue that the university should allocate more money to the professors as they have been playing an important role to educate the students. While others have the opposite idea that professors are not required to pay high salaries. From my perspective, the formal view carries more weight. I take the position on account for the following reasons.

Primarily, working as a professor is not an easy task because they do not work only for certain hours that they are physically present at the university. In addition to that, they may perform various tasks outside the working hours. For instance, the lecturer may give lesion for 90 minutes in the classroom. However, he puts an ample amount of time to prepare for that lecture in order to execute the lecture in a more engaging way to benefit the students. Moreover, they also allocate a huge amount of time in marking the assignments in order to provide valuable feedback to the students which may help the students to prepare for the exams. In some scenario, some educators do extra work at their home instead of spending time with their family which often go unnoticed. thus, it is important to pay a high salary to the professors who dedicate their many hours to educate the students.

Secondly, educating university students is more difficult compared to high school students. they are enough matured at this age. Sometimes, they do not want to pay attention in the class even though the professor is trying his best to make them understand the topic and, other times, students often go against the professors. consequently, professors will need to face the negative consequences. Furthermore, they would sacrifice their whole life in teaching their students in order to make their future bright. my own uncle is a compelling example of this. he has been working as a chemistry professor at the same university since he completed his graduation. he will be getting retire this year. he has given his whole life in serving education to the students. thus, the professor really deserves a high salary because they sacrifice their life in order to make the country strong.

On the other hand, if the educators at the university are not paid well, they might look for the other job to meet the family’s needs. As a result, they may unable to work efficiently in the university which will directly influence the student's performance. In some situation, the lecturer may like to move to the other university where he would get a high salary from the university. Therefore, the native university would lose an experienced educator. Gradually the university may have a lack of experienced staff members which will bring down the university's reputation.

In summation, from all aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that it is extremely important to pay high salary to the university professors. this is because they spend their career to educate the students so the students can make a bright career, and because they spend their own time for the students, so they deserve that.