TPO40: some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get. Do you think this is a good idea?

There are lots of ways in modern education to motivate children and make them interested to study. Rewarding is a common attitude of encouragement among families and schools these days. But the way of rewarding has a significant importance in the process of children education and making them ready for real works in adult world. To my mind, it is not a good idea to reward children with money for each high mark they get. I think it's not a proper idea to encourage them to study for two main reasons.

To begin with, getting money is not an efficient and long-lasting incentive and object for studying. students should find their passion to pursue and goal for studying that can keep them in the way. a real and true motivation, makes people try hard and Indeed, keep trying! so If children find this real goal, they will study always, not just for money. even they face hard situations, even they feel exhausted, they won't give up. For instance, I have never got money for my grades throughout my study years. Maybe I received some little prizes at the end of some years but not regularly for each high-grade, and as a result, I learnt I should study for my own passions and reasons not just for money. And it was like a pleasant duty to me not just a boring task to earn money. And I believe I will reward in the future at work, with money, respect and knowledge.

moreover, If the children get used to it, they will expect to get money each time. It may make them greedy, they want more and maybe, the money doesn't satisfy them anymore. they won't stand a secession without getting prize or even any failure! so it will be a pressure on parents to prepare their expectations. And also as a consequence, maybe it creates an unhealthy competition among children for getting more money or staff. And then, the students that can’t afford it will be hurt.

To sum up, it seems to me that this kind of rewarding doesn't work well for school-age children. they should give their prize from themselves, as a result of their hard try. and it should make them happy deep inside of their hearts. And that's the way that they can keep trying in the future. although it is great to encourage them occasionally to show respect to their efforts.