In twenty years there will be fewer cars than there are these days

Cars have always been an easy way to move from place to place. Nevertheless, over the last decade, methods of public transportation, such as buses, trains, or subways, have become more important for the citizens of many countries. In my opinion, in the future, the use of cars will have gone down because of the pollution they produce as well as rising petroleum prices.

On the one hand, we live on a planet that has already started to change because of global warming. The effects of global warming can be seen when you are walk around the city: the sky has changed color, it is not as bright anymore, and the weather is also notably warmer. That´s why researchers have predicted that unless we stop this global warming, the effects on our planet will be devastating. Due to this fact, governments are encouraging people to use public transport rather than their own cars, because of the gases that cares release into atmosphere. I believe that as more people become aware of global warming, they will try to use public transportation more often instead of their own cars; therefore, the sales of cars will probably decrease over the years.

On the other hand, fuel is the main source cars run on, and it is obtained through petroleum. Nevertheless, petroleum is a limited energy source and that´s why it has just begun to run out. Researches are looking for other types of energy sources such as hydrogen. However, there is no evidence to support the advantages that hydrogen offers. Therefore, the price of the petroleum over the years will sharply increase and many people will not be able to pay for fuel in order to drive their cars. For this reason, I truly believe that the amount of cars in twenty years will be less than the amount we have nowadays, because it will be easier and cheaper to use public transportation in the future rather than cars.

In conclusion, the reasons presented above should give rise to serious discussion about the use of cars nowadays versus twenty years later. The public transportation systems in various countries should continue to develop and thus eliminate the current need for people to possess their own automobile. Moreover, it is said that petroleum is beginning to run out, so the price of it will increase over the next years. Due to this, many people will not be able to face these prices and therefore won´t use their own cars.