In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use of cars is a very subjective issue; for some it can be a status quo whereas for some it might just be a way of commuting. I personally agree with the statement that there would be fewer cars in use after twenty years than there are today. I am of the opinion that public transportation would be preferred by majority of people in future to avoid excess traffic and needless consumption of fuel.

Firstly, fuel consumption by personal cars would be a problem. We have limited fuel reserves and we can’t afford to use them recklessly. If four people use four different cars for commuting to the same workplace, it is anything but using our natural resources wisely. By way of example, many companies and corporations even today, provide a bus for their employees to commute. This approach is benefitting in two ways; increased convenience of employees(as they do not have to drive) and fuel savings along with decreased pollution.

In addition to high fuel consumption, pollution would be increased to great amount harming the environment in countless ways. Taking into consideration China or India, the pollution levels in some areas have increased to an extent where people are wearing masks even while walking down the road. A major part of the population uses personal cars and vehicles leading to increased pollution. These living conditions are so harmful and people have started moving from such places only to enjoy a healthy environment and some clean air.

Finally, the world population is increasing day by day. The population boom will not allow for everyone to drive cars; the roads won’t be able to contain such a huge amount of cars. The traffic which would be created when everyone is driving their cars would be horrific. Beijing is a classic example of high traffic and in turn, people end up wasting a lot of time during commute. A simple bus can replace approximately thirty cars on the road, thus reducing traffic to a great extent.

In conclusion, these are reasons why we shouldn’t be using our personal cars when there is an option of public transport. I believe people have already or will soon realise the importance of these issues and hence, I agree with the statement and am of the strong opinion that there will be fewer cars in use after twenty years than there are today.