In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today

TOEFL

Technology has advanced at a supreme rate and made human life comfortable and productive. Yet, these advancements have been at the cost of harming the natural environment and causing various serious issues such as global warming and climate change. In my opinion, there will be fewer cars in use in than there are today, in twenty years. I will substantiate and justify my reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, cars have a detrimental effect on the surrounding as they release noxious and deleterious gases into the environment such as carbon monoxide. In addition to this, the number of cars on roads have quadrapled in the last decade. This has caused the overall global temperature to increase. Therefore, I feel companies will direct their thoughts to ways to sustain the environment. For example, Tesla has paved the way for future electric cars which do not need fuel to run and neither release any hazardous gases into the environment. They have been at the forefront of this innovation .Many companies are now working towards making environment-friendly technologies and investing in electric cars and bikes. With so much innovation happening, car pooling also should be made mandatory to reduce the number of cars to keep the emissions in check. Therefore, I feel the number of cars are bound to decrease in twenty years.

Secondly, many leading developing countries have made the rule that one family should be having one car. In addition to this, there has been a large improvement in public transportation such as trains, metros and public bus. For example, Hyperloop has come with a brilliant solution. They have developed pods in a train which will help people travel over long distances in a very short amount of time. Although it is in production, the tests simulations have proved to be truly breath-taking. It has reduced a car journey of two hundread kilometres between two cities from three hours to half-hour. With technology ameliorating at such a great speed, in the next twenty years, I am positive that many more companies are going to be inventing and coming up with brilliant solutions to overcome the problems associated with cars.

Therefore, I firmly reiterate that the number of cars will be fewer in twenty years. Moreover, I feel people are aware of the problem at hand associated with vehicles and will willingly switch to public transport and other means to curb the issue and help heal this world to its former glory.