At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal finance support.

As days keep passing us by so fast, we forget what's important. In an age solely dependent on multitasking and functioning fast to not waste a single minute, we forget that we are humans and humans are not immune to illness. In my opinion, sports and social activities in universities are as essential as classes and libraries for the following reasons.

To begin with, sports are very important to maintain our health. Many illnesses are potentiated by a sedentary lifestyle that lacks exercise like hypertension, diabetes, heart diseases, and high blood cholesterol. Also, college students don't have the best eating habits either. They tend to rely solely on what fuels their bodies fast without having the need to cook. Unhealthy foods they mostly consume are noodles and energy drinks that are filled with caffeine and sugar. This, in turn, can facilitate diseases to find an easy target with an invitation but, with exercise, toxins are flushed through sweat, and the whole body is stimulated during exercise which leads to an increase in health.

Second, having social activities can help newcomers make friends. We've always had that weird moment when we felt that we don't fit but, with social activities, we're bound to meet new people that share the same interests as us. This provides students with a chance to make friends and enjoy their lives. Furthermore, this allows students to be more comfortable and provides them with a chance to enjoy their college days rather than having only bad memories of doing nothing but studying through the late night.

Finally, sports and social activities can be a way for students to release stress, negative energy, and compete with their fellow acquaintances. Having a sense of competition highly encourages students to participate and takes their minds off classes. Additionally, it can be a way for students to express themselves. Some find it hard to express themselves verbally so, this provides them with an opportunity to be understood or even welcomed. For example, some students love to express their feelings through music, and others do that by acting.

In conclusion, sports and social activities are highly important for many reasons such as maintaining a healthy body, meeting new people and making friends, and a good and easy way to release stress and overcome negative feelings.