At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The way in which universities and colleges allocate their financial support towards different activities or infrastructure has always caught the critics of both students and professors. Students usually pay high tuition fees and want to get out the most out of this investment both academically and socially. In my view, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries, and thus should receive equal financial support.

To start with, the skill set that students acquire while practicing sports is totally different from those acquired while in class or the library. Classes are great to teach specific academic concepts or case studies, but in most cases cannot teach people how to interact with each other. For instance, rugby is a sport in which 40 people or so form each team. These team members usually train together three times a week and play matches once a week. As a result, sports such as rugby transmit the values of team work and persistency to all of its players. It is no surprise that these specific values are taken into account seriously by corporations and thus would provide students with a better chance of getting jobs out of college.

Second, I strongly believe that one of the greatest things that one can get out of university is a network of friends. These networks are often built away from classes and libraries altogether, in fact, field trips are often perfect for this type of connections to flourish, even though these trips might be hard to afford for many students. Furthermore, other social activites such as theme clubs could foster this connection. For example, I remember that when I attended college, I joined the finance club and met a lot of other students who had similar interest to mine. Ten years have already gone by, and we are still a very close group of friends that gathers once per month for a beer.

In summary, I think that universities and colleges would be wise to give equal financial support for sports and social activities and classes and libraries. By doing so, these educational institutions will contribute greatly to their students' future success in the job market and their lifelong network of friends.