At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Do you agree or not with the statement.

Most people in the world agree to the fact that social activities and sports play a crucial role in the overall development of the student along with the academics. Personally, I believe that universities and colleges must allocate equal funds for social activities, sports, and classes, libraries. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, sports and social activities increase the reputation of the college. For example, My university, SRM University, is mainly recognized by people for its alumni, who excelled in the field of sports and public service. Our University promoted sports equally as academics. It provided many facilities and support for students, which helped us to develop. For instance, R Ashwin, a famous Indian spinner is an alumnus of our university. He is the second Indian spinner to take 600 test wickets. He is very thankful to the university for supporting him both financially and mentally. Having great people as alumni plays a crucial role in attracting potential candidates to the university. Hence, Universities should allocate an equal share of their financial resources to sports.

Secondly, Sports and Social activities help students to improve physically and mentally. Sports mainly develop qualities like competitiveness, teamwork. Social activities mainly make students improve their awareness of the problems that society faces and would develop qualities of empathy, kindness, and standing for themselves and for others. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years back, when I was studying at the university, I was the captain of the university's cricket team. I used to go to training every day provided by our university. Working hard there improved my physical abilities to a great extent. Being a captain, I developed the skills of team management, motivating other people, communicating my thoughts in a crisp and clear manner.

In conclusion, Universities must do equal allocation of financial support for sports, social activities and library, classes. This is because it increases the reputation of the university and also helps the students to develop many essential skills that are useful in the long run.