University students should be required to take history courses no matter what field they study.

Now in many universities, students have many chances to take courses from other majors than their own. Taking courses from other major is of great importance to broaden students’ horizon and discover the interconnection between different disciplines. But when it comes to whether students should be required to take history courses whatever they major in, I hold the opposite opinion.

History courses do have importance in university students’ study. By taking history courses, students can learn from the past, preventing themselves from making the same mistakes, and helping themselves to face a similar situation to the past. However, students should have the right to decide whether they want to take history courses or not. If history courses become compulsory to all the university students, their study may have more stress and tension to take courses that they are not really interested in.

Besides, for students majoring in science and engineering, compulsory history courses make few contributions to their career. A science and engineering student will have many basic courses to take, like advanced mathematics, statistics, physics and chemistry fundamentals and so on. These courses are important and usually cost students much time to learn and digest. Spending time on taking extra history courses may become their burden because history, as a social science discipline, have different study objects. In natural sciences we study nature and universe, while in social science we study people and society. From my own experience in university, I have chances to choose courses beside my major chemistry, so I choose courses from other science and engineering major such as environmental analysis, engineering drawing and so on. I think these courses inspired me on my career decision to an environmental engineer. History courses possibly wouldn’t play the same role as these science and engineering courses.

Furthermore, if history courses become compulsory to all the students, not only the students but also the history professors will have more work load. Professors have their research and need to balance between teaching and doing research. Besides, as the teaching assignments become heavy since history courses become compulsory, more teaching assistants will be needed. Then, too much teaching resources will be costed in providing history to all university students.

To sum up, even though learning history is beneficial for students to develop their mind and merit, taking history courses should not be compulsory to all university students.