What is the most important factor for students to succeed at university or college? 1) university tutors' individual instructions to help solve students' problems; 2) encouragement from family and friends;

3) high-quality education and excellent teachers in the high school

When it comes to the college life, the young students never fail to take account into the important factor for students. Some people believe that the most important factor for students at university or college is to the encouragement from family and friends. However, some students assert that the success of the college life cannot get rid of high-quality education and excellent teachers in the high school. In my opinion, the university tutor’s individual instructions to help solve students’ problems plays the most important rule.

First and foremost, tutors’ individual instructions can adapt the freshmen to the new life of the college. Most of the students who enter in the university at the first time always feel stressed and pressured, which means they cannot follow the seniors or joiners effectively at the beginning. They may face a huge number of problems that never been seen in their high school, like writing the reports, attending the students union, and following the new professors. And the tutors can help them solve the problems easily by introducing their situations of university and giving their own experience. For example, my friend Lucia who is a freshman can not adapt the life of university. She cannot understand the professors’ commands and get a low grade point average, so she not only feels nervous but also wants to drop off the university. However, after that, she meets with her tutor every week. She feels much better. This is because her tutor gives a lot of useful suggestions, such as how to write a letter to her professor, or how to plan her life in order to finish the homework on time, which makes she adapts the new life.

Besides, by talking with the tutors, the students can get some experience from the tutor. Students can ask some questions about the college life, knowing the dates of festivals, celebrations, and the field studies, which may help them to plan their life in order rather than face everything unexpectedly. And then, the students may feel satisfied because they can prepare everything very well. For example, my roommate Amy who is a night person likes to study at night. Once a time, she plans to review her calculus at night before the day that the test comes. When she chats with her tutor, the tutor mentions that there is a halloween party for everyone, which means she has to reschedule her plan, otherwise she may fail the test since she has to no time to review.

Admittedly, encouragement from family and friends may let the students feel better when they face the problems. However, it is hard for most family or friends to solve the problems actually since they may live thousands of miles away from the university. In addition, in some case, high- quality education and excellent teachers in the high school may provide the solutions of some questions. But the truth is that all the universities offer totally different educational content, which hardly have anything in common with the high-school education, so the usefulness of the past time education and teachers can not help the students all the time.

Judging what has been discussed above, we can easily draw the conclusion that university tutors' individual instructions to help solve students' problems is the most important factor.