When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

To begin with, working together can provide students opportunities to improve their studying efficiency. In a group, the team members are always classmates or friends. In order for self-esteem or winning favor of teachers, there are more likely for students to compete with each other. No one wants to lag behind. By contrast, compared with group working, working alone may can study in one’s own step but it may not stimulate students to work harder. Take me as an example. Once my friends and I designed a project for the library which demanded one week to finish, our teacher would grade higher for the one who achieved better. Through teamwork, I realized that my friends were more adept at drawing and designing and the inability and strong feeling of competition made me feel that I should work harder than before. As a result, there was more impetus for me to stay up late to find new information and images for the project, focusing more on details and seeking innovative ideas, which proved to be a big success for my final grade. It is a great chance for students to learn how to achieve maximism of study speed and well-organize their time among group work.

In addition to enhancing studying speed, it is possible for students to have capability improved during a discussion with classmates. That is, because for different people, the same topic may arouse different opinions and thoughts. Unlike studying alone, group work provokes various ideas. By exchanging with others, students realize their strengths or weaknesses. My professor is a good example to illustrate. Without pointing out our drawbacks directly, every time she organized a group discussion or debate in order that we could exchange our works ahead of time. It is an imperative step because by intensely kicking something around and looking from different angles, it is easier for us to aware of which part is need to be improved and what we have learnt from others in terms of the same topic. Meanwhile, owing to strong discussions and high involvements, we could remember impressively about contents we have summarized, which benefits for our future study. That is magic that group working brings about.