When you are deciding which of the two places to visit, should you discuss with someone who has visited the two places or read online and why?

Recent years have witnessed the tremendous accumulation of material affluence, so people can spare more energy to concentrate on spiritual pursuit. As a means to promote spiritual life, travelling, both inbound and outbound, takes up a large portion of time in contemporary society. Airbnb, TripAdvisor, and Booking are popular applications that people fond of travelling often turn to when making strategies. However, a myriad of people are still in favor of the idea that suggestions from their friends who have been to their target places are more reliable. When it comes to a more pleasant trip, I myself am a firm advocate of seeking information online.

First off, online resources are unbiased information, allowing people to receive objective views of their travelling destinations. There are a thousand Hamlets in a thousand people's eyes, explicitly conveying an idea that there is a high probability that different people will hold diverse standpoints towards the same topic. A place where your friend visited happens to be your next desirable destination, which may, of course, have you equipped with valuable suggestions, but as well as may hinder you from stepping on that land. Take myself as an example. Before designing my spring-break trip to Turkey, I was struck by a memory that one of my friends travelled there two years ago and immediately texted her to give me some tips. My classmate was so warm-hearted that she drew a detailed plan for me, the top tourist attractions, such as St. Sophia church and The Blue Mosque, were included. In addition, she also reminded me that The Museum of Innocence is a sight spot that I could barely skip. Fortunately, I did not follow her suggestion blindly; instead, I browsed Mafengwo, a highly-renowned website for travelogues, for more personalized information, as a result of which, I categorized this museum as one of my must-sees for it was a concept museum established by Nobel Prize winner Orhan Pamuk on the basis of his novel of the same name, which also induced me to read this novel before the trip. My decision turned out to be sensible, and the museum proved to be a marvel with its delicacy. Travelling is more or less a private conduct; therefore, not advice from experienced friends but unselected and unprejudiced online information corresponds with each person’s idiosyncrasy.

On top of that, the Internet will repeatedly update its sources so as to ensure readers could keep pace with the latest guidance. Keeping informed of travelling information by the Internet means that you hardly be obsolete. What acquaintances could do is to provide vivid, face-to-face description of the place they have gone to and you will go to, a direct way to access to first-hand information. Nevertheless, the progression of modern age accelerates the update of information: hostels, restaurants, bus routes, or even the whole target place might be different in two-month time. Consequently, consulting with friends could fall shout of accuracy. For example, I recommended my sister that she should not visit Gulangyu Island, Xiamen Province, for the unpalatability and expensiveness of its food, or even worse the whole Gulangyu plan should be eliminated from her schedule because of the fact that there was no difference between it and other ancient towns like Wuzhen and Lijiang. Luckily enough and regardless of my obstinacy, my sister made a thorough investigation on the Internet, and the result came as that the local Bureau of Commodity carried out regulations to resolve price-related problems, and what I have mentioned became a story of a different version. Thanks to the Internet, my sister had the opportunity to visit this petite, exquisite, and temperate island. Since the rapid development of the world puts everything on its spin, our friends have limited channels to the latest and most accurate information and the Internet is the last resort travellers should turn to when making decision regarding whether a place deserves a visit or not.

In a nutshell, it is quite common for us to seek advice from our buddies when planning a trip to places they have been before, but in most cases, more benefits can be available if we pick up some travelling information from the Internet. After all, it is our disposition rather than other people’s advice that determines what our preferences are and what sort of information we are in urgent need of.