Whether playing computer games is a waste of time.

In recent decades, computers have become popular and nearly every family has one. With the development of the software, many computer games appear. Some people argue that playing computer games is a waste of time and children shouldn't be allowed to play. However, in my opinion, computer games are somewhat beneficial for children and they should have the chance of playing them.

Playing computer games is a good way for children to relax. Nobody can concentrate on the study all the time. For children who study from Monday to Friday, it's reasonable for them to play computer games as a relaxing tool. When I was young, my parents allowed me to play computer games on weekends while I could only do that after finishing all my homework. Then I would focus on my work on Saturday and finish it efficiently. The playtime reduces my study pressure and helps me relax.

Nowadays many computer games contain much knowledge and may be helpful to children's study. For example, I know one computer game related to the Palace Museum in China. Players of this game will be informed of the cultural relics in the palace every day. The information includes when the relic was made and the related story behind it. Therefore, people should reject the opinion that all the computer games are hazardous to children. Some games bring knowledge to the students in a more acceptable way.

Playing computer games at present can be regarded as an occupation and there are more and more professional players. This new industry becomes popular in recent years and every year some large worldwide competitions will be held. Consequently, playing computer games should be treated the same as other occupations. For children who are talented in this area, they need to practice more and probably they can become professional players in the future.

Playing computer games not only helps children to relax but also teaches them some knowledge. Additionally, a computer games player is an occupation just the same as a doctor or a teacher. Children shouldn't be banned from playing computer games owing to the above reasons.