Job, the foundation of a quality life, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over what kind of job is better. A job with more vacation time, in some people’s views, is a good choice. Contrary to these people’s opinions is my perspective that a challenging job with less vacation is better.

What must be prioritized is that challenging jobs, compared to boring jobs, is more beneficial to improve people’s professional levels by triggering their enthusiasm in learning and motivation to develop skills. To begin with, what we can not ignore is that a challenging job can encourage us to learn new knowledge. In detail, when we work on challenging tasks we will meet difficulties, which will trigger us to learn theoretical knowledge and experience that are needed for solving problems. In contrast, people do not have enough motivation to obtain more theoretical knowledge and experience if they have a boring job. Moreover, it is challenging job that helps people to develop skills. To explain it further, people need to get the hang of all sorts of skills, like communicating skill, time-managing skill and stress-management ability, which will push people to learn and make progress constantly. On the other hand, will boring job trigger people to improve such skills?

What should be equally worth discussing is that compared to a job with more vacation, a job with less vacation can promote career development by letting them have more working time and maintain good relationship with people at work. To be specific, the less time people spend on vacation, the more time they will have to finish projects, write reports and meet clients. By contrast, under no circumstances will they have time to finish those work if they spend plenty of time on vacations. Additionally, people can build up good relationships at work when they have a job with less vacation. To be specific, employees will have more time to maintain relationships with colleagues and superiors. On the contrary, people will not have as much as time to work and socialize with colleagues if they are on vacation during most of the working time.

Professional levels, the foundation of a fulfilled life, will be obtained by doing a challenging job. Career development, the essential contributor to future promotion, can be facilitated by working on a job with little vacation. To conclude, only by having a challenging job with less vacation, can people reap numerous benefits.