Which factor influences you the most when it comes to a major purchase? 1) recommendations form your friends and colleagues; 2) information from media; 3) salesman in the market

China’s economy is taking off, which brings a lot of benefits to people including the huge increase in their purchasing power. People incline to consider lots of factors before they decide to buy something. In the meantime, a variety of products keep coming out to the market, which makes it even harder for them to make choices between them. Thus, a heated discussion has arisen among the public about which way influences us most when people are facing a major purchase, recommendations from their friends, information from media, or statements made by the salesman. As for me, the first approach plays the most important role in affecting my decision about a major purchase. My reasons and examples are given below.

First, recommendations from friends and colleagues are more trustworthy, especially compared to those from salesmen in the market. After purchasing certain kind of products or services, they will be willing to share their true experience with us with no need to lie about it. On the contrary, there is an absolute motivation for others to hide some part of the truth from us for their own interests. For example, both commercial in the media and recommendations from the salesman aim at raising the sales of their products, which will definitely gain more profits, even some comments on social media made by someone who seems to have nothing to do with the products may also lie because of some reasons we don’t know.

Second, recommendation from friends and colleagues gives us more valuable information about the products we intend to buy. As we know, most of our friends are closed to us because they hold the same values as we do, moreover, considering how much time we’ve spent together with our friends and colleagues, we tend to have similar needs and desires about shopping with them. As a consequence, their suggestions about products are of higher inference values to us. For example, if I want some advice on choosing a suitable type of laptop for myself, I would definitely turn to my friends for help due to the sufficient knowledge they possess about electronic products.

Admittedly, I’m not denying the values of information from media or the salesman, they do have their value when we have no friends nearby to turn to. Nonetheless, think of the authenticity of these information we get, it is not worthwhile to undertake such a great risk just in order to satisfy our temporary passion for purchasing.

From what have been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that recommendations from our friends and colleagues are of more importance to us than information from media or salesman in the market. For it is not only more reliable but also suit our needs more perfectly.