Which is more important for a leader: the ability to win an argument about an issue, or the ability to help others come to an agreement about an issue? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leader is the one who works for the people whereas the boss makes the other peoples work. Leader is part of team and works towards finding the solution for problems. Therefore, in my opinion, a true leader would assisst other people to reach to the conclusion rather than focusing on winning an argument.

As mentioned previously, a good leader focuses on finding solution and doesn’t dominate the people’s will. He would rather listen to other people’s opinion and give a thoughful consideration instead of merely emphasizing his opinions. After India’s independence, Mahatma Gandhi had was of the opinion that we include “charkha”- traditional cloth weaving equipment in the national flag. However, on learning other people’s opinion, he chose to incorporate “Ashoka Chakra” in the Indian flag. Therefore, a good leader would supress his own opinion and consider other people’s opinion if he / she finds their opinions to more pragmatic.

Furthermore, importance of winning an argument would lose its charm in a short period whereas the conclusive decision taken based on mutual agreement of all of the stakeholders would be appreciated for long period of time. Around 5 years back, I was the head of design department of my college’s aeromodelling team. At that time, I was of the opinion to use NACA 0012 airfoil for air plane and provided the reasons that bolstered my decision. However, not all of my colleagues were convinced with my decision. Instead of emphasizing my opinion I tried to understand the solution their persective andd pointed out few of the drawbacks in their proposed solution. We carried out a brainstorming session and new solution was implemented in our airplane design. We achieve an 3rd rank in national aeromodelling competition held at IIT bombay. This wouldn’t have been possible if I had tried to enforce my decision on them.

Based on justification and illustrations provided above, I feel leader should bolster people in getting the solution achieved on mutual agreement.