Which one is the most important factor to help you work productively:

A. Having an environment free of noise and distractions;

B. Knowing that you will receive a reward;

C. Doing something you are interested in.

Working productively is very important when having vital event to do. Associate with the productivity, the environment where you doing the things is important too, the environment you stay will help you work productively. Some people claim that environment is not the most important factor, instead, they believe doing something you are interested in is the major factor. However, I believe that having an environment free of noise and distractions is the most important factor to help you work productively, and in this essay, I have some reasons to support my opinion.

First of all, working requires no distractions and noise. Library is the perfect example where is representative to the idea. Students always go to library for studying, because it is a place without noise and distraction, students can fully focus on studying in this environment. If there is noise and distraction around the students who want to study, it is hard for the students to focus on the work, since there is an unfavorite noise trying to catch your attention. Personally, I also experienced the same situation before. When I was trying to focus on studying for my psychology exam, my friends were playing game next to me, and they played the sound out loud from the speaker, even though I know I should not be distracted, however the sounds alway triggered me to look to the friends. And then I got angry because of my friends, which cause me no longer focus on reviewing, instead, I started to yell at my friends.

Sometime knowing that you will receive a reward is helpful to magnify the productivity, however, it also cause diffusion of attention. While you are doing work, you may also thinking what the reward is, which causing lower productivity, because your mind is not focusing on the work only. Also, knowing that you will get a reward will automatically low the quality of the work. To be more specific, people may shorten the working period since they are desiring the award, in other words, people are doing their works for the award, and they are not actually working for the achievement.

In a nutshell, working in an environment free of noise and distractions is the first priority for me, because a quiet place will help me to focus and complete the important things I need to do.