Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities

It is unquestionable that young people can have a huge impact on their society. Most people argue that nowadays young people devote more time to helping their community. However, I am of the opinion that youngsters allot less time to make contributions to their community. In the following essay, I will vindicate my stance through three noticeable reasons.

To begin with, in the hectic life of today, young people have no time helping society. In fact, they are busy doing their homework in the university or dealing with the excessive workload. To illustrate this, when I was younger, I participated in different city projects like picking up the litter, purchasing pieces of stuff that old people needed and so forth. After I went to university, however, I had to devote all of my time doing the assignments in order to get a good grade. Had I not have to cope with the huge volume of assignments, I could have contributed to bettering my community.

Another equally significant point is that the advent of the internet has significantly reduced face-to-face communication. In fact, people even do not know their neighbors. Also, the addicting games allure young people’s attention so much that they prefer to spend their time playing these games. For instance, my father told me that in the past, young people assembled together in order to spend their free time because there were no internet and cell phones to entertain them, talking about their problems. As a result of knowing their problems, they gave themselves financial or mental support, benefiting the community around them in this way. This example shows that the appearance of the internet makes young people care less about their communities.

Last but not least, in today’s sophisticated world, the price of everything people need has dramatically increased, forcing people to have two different jobs in order to afford such huge costs. On the contrary, in the past, the prices of food, purchasing a house and so on was not high that one job could meet people’s need. In this regard, young people have enough time to participate in activities that benefited their community.

All in all, today young people make less contribution to their community because the workload and the volume of assignments which young people deal with have drastically augmented. Also, the invention of the internet distracts young people’s attention from caring about their communities. Furthermore, the rise in prices makes people devote most of their time taking part in several occupations.