Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly). Or

A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although some people adamantly claim that a profound, longer study in the university leads to gaining a better job, others take an opposite point of view. Personally, I am of the opinion that finishing universtiy in a shorter period and achieving the degree is better than spending a long time in studying. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, intering to the job market, as soon as possible, could help you to identify in what field you are more interested in to work. Although some students discover their talents and favourite majors before interring university, there are some people who found out what realm would be interesting for them after they start working in the real world. For example, my own experience ecould illustrate this argument. I can remember when I wanted to choose my major when I was a freshman, I had a different idea about my skills and interest. For instance, I though that I am a really social person who could communicate with all kinds of people with different background so I chose to be a teacher. Unfortunately, when I graduated from university and started my first job in a primary school, I found out that my temprament was really different than I perceived. Luckily, I had the opportunity to change my career and try different tasks in the school .As I showed my abilities earlier in the university, my professors recommended me to a better high school to spend a short time of internship. Eventually, I decided to work in administration department which was according my interests. That experience showed me that the situation in the real world differs from what we thought. So it would be better if we faced these difficulties earlier to assess themselves.

Second, more working in the real situation and gaining more experience would lead to a better job. When a person want to apply for a job opportunity, in most cases, employers emphasis more on the experiences than the university qualification and number of studying lessons. For example, my brother’s experience in the past could elucidate this. He never got a university degree since he left studying in his university when he was in his second year of studying. Despite my experience, he achieved a great job opportunity in that time so he decided to gain more real experience. Even though all og his classmates and even his teachers thought that his decision was wrong, my brother was determined. After years, when his classmates graduated, they had a myriad of difficulties finding a decent job. Conversely, my brother had a good job with a high income, thanks to his experience.

All in all, I would advise my friend to choose a university which offer shorter study years because by doing so not only he will assess hisself in the real condition of job market, but also he could achieve more experiences which could help him accomplishing a better job.