Your friends have the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly).

Or A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

If you draft a list of question centering on connection among major, time, and career, from the questionnaire written by students of university, you may find that if a major would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree, he could begin to work full-time quickly, which earns more experiences, while if a major requires many years of study, the students learning this major could have more employment opportunities and offers in the future. Which is better? And which one could you choose? As far as I am concerned, I prefer to the latter one.

Initially, from a long time (many years) study on a major, we tend to have solider professional skills. Just as the saying denotes, no pain no gains. Indeed, the profound meaning lying in this proverb persuades us that the harvest and achievement depend on how much you devote to. Therefore, it is not strange for us to perceive that a major that would allow him to finish years of study could bring about considerable knowledge and professional skills accordingly. On the other words, if he takes another major requiring only a few years, he may seize less knowledge after your graduation. That means he is more likely to be competent on work of professional field. From a survey made by a well-know institution, it suggested that most of students getting a long-time study major are more confident and competent on the work than the students who have a relative short-time major.

On top of that, more employment opportunities and offers in the future means you have increasing number of chances and choices. This is a simple principle that increasing number of employment chances and offers bring about more flexibility and choices, cause you could select and choose the one you are most interested in and you are able to get relative high emolument from. In this way, you could be really enjoy yourself on work and have more motivation on it, which leads you to be focus on what you do. From this chemical reaction, just imagine, you may be impossible not to get promotion.

Admittedly, in a short term, a major requiring a few years indicates that it could save his money due to less tuition. Earlier work could make you earn money sooner. Less expenditure plus early making a living allows him to give back to his parents. However, in a long term, even if the people who study the major requiring many years of study graduate and work late, they have more chances to get a high-paying job which could compensate the gap between incomings of two kinds of major students quickly. And even one year salaries of people getting long-time major succeeds 5 years salaries of people who study a major require a few years of study. We could draw the conclusion that after several years, the situation may be reverse.

Above all, a major requiring many years of study is better because not only make them have solider knowledge but also have more choices for choosing high-paying job which they are also interested in.