Nowadays, forming a group of students with similar academic abilities, which attracted the numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public. According to me, it can be said that grouping learners according to their performance is beneficial, while on the other hand stands a perspective that it can demotivate the pupil with average abilities. This essay will elaborate both sides and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why making a group of students according to their academic performance is good but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that learner with the same educational performance can generate more productive ideas by working with same level of groupmates. For example, if one student in a group have low level of performance and facing problems to grasp the concept then it can raise difficulties for other group members. Thereby, grouping students according to academic abilities is playing a crucial role in increasing the performance.

Nevertheless, some people hold an opposing view and tend to believe that forming the group of pupils according to academic abilities will not only demotivate the other students with low IQ, but also impact on their learning abilities. Because, students can learn from other students more easily. Therefore, isolating the students in academic studies accoring to their performance level can lead to some serious consicuances.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite having some concerns, the role of grouping pupils according to academic abilities in acheiving outstanding performance is instrumental indeed.