Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Older workers are generally just as capable as the young . Since age is not necessarily an indication of lower ability , treating a person less favorably on the basis of their age alone is just as unreasonable and unfair as doing so on the basis of his or her sex , race or religion . It would also be inconsistent with the principles of equal treatment and non-discrimination , which are at the heart of the notion of individual rights which most modern democracies espouse.

If a specific older worker truly has , say , less concentration or manual strength than a younger worker , and this objectively makes that candidate less qualified for the particular job , then employers could come to a determination regarding the employment decision in the case , based on relative lack of suitability for the job—rather than merely on age . Age by itself should never be a determinant.

There is nothing to indicate that older workers are not as productive and essential to the work place as younger workers . Indeed the contrary may be the case . The benefits of having a mixed-age work force which better reflects the wider society may bring a crucial competitive advantage to the employing organization . Older workers could take on a mentoring role for younger workers who may not have as wide a range of life skills and experiences as older workers . Conversely , older workers may be able to benefit from the technical skills of younger workers who are more aware of cutting edge technologies .

Ultimately any decision should be based on general principles concerning the rights of individuals to achieve their true potential , the needs of companies to meet the economic challenges ahead and the need for laws governing the rights of individuals to be consistent across all spheres of public life . Therefore , in my view , discrimination against older workers should definitely be made illegal