Any new technological development in recent times is a boon or curse for society in general. Do

you agree or disagree that mass media like TV, radio and newspapers have a huge impact on

people, especially the young generation.

It is argued that mass media like television, radio and newspaper can have a major negative influence on people’s lives especially the younger generation. This essay agrees with this statement and believes that although there are many other factors that influence people, media definitely has a huge impact. The essay will first discuss the potential negative impact that mass media devices have had on society along with supporting arguments, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why mass media can impact the minds of the youth . But the most notable one stems from the fact that people and the younger generation spend a large amount of time exposed to various forms of media. As an example, a person can start off his day by reading the newspaper, then listen to the radio and finally end the day by watching the television. Moreover, as we are influenced by our environment this will have a telling impact on a person’s behavior.

Some may offer a contrary argument, and say that media is only a source of entertainment. However, it also needs to be taken into consideration that prolonged exposure to negative ideas expressed in media subconsciously makes its way into our minds and lives. The most concerning aspect about this fact is that children get much of their beliefs and values through different forms of media they are exposed too. This idea is completely unacceptable, as there also needs to be conscious choice by parents on what sources of information their children consume.

Taking into account the arguments discussed, we can conclude that although mass media can be seen as a form of entertainment the negative ideas expressed through it has a considerable effect on people, especially the youth.