Television Good or Bad
These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about television and if it should be
viewed as a positive or negative impact to society. While it is possible to claim that television
provides a source of entertainment to people, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the
advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the
argument.
There are several reasons why Television is considered to be disadvantageous to society. One of
them is that viewing of television can be a source of distraction in our life, turning away our
focus from the more important things in life. It can also be argued that we tend to waste hours
in front of the television instead of working on our goals and ambitions in life. It should also be
taken into account that children at a young age spending too much time in front of the
television. For example, some people spend all of their free time in front of the television instead
of working on productive activities.
Those who argue for television have a different view and say that it can actually be a good
thing. Firstly, it is claimed that Television can be a good source of information to learn new
things if used correctly. Then, there are concerns about people not viewing television to be
unaware of current events and latest news around the world.
While there are strong arguments on both sides of the case, my personal opinion is that
television usage is best avoided or minimized as we should focus on other productive tasks
instead. I would strongly recommend that people view how much time they currently spend on
watching television and see how this time can be put to better use.