Any recent invention that you think has proved detrimental or beneficial to society?

The role of computers as a recent invention has served mankind astronomically with many people claiming that the advent of the internet has paved way for unreal communication among people. However, I believe that the internet has made people smarter and competitive in this modern world. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are many reasons why the internet proves beneficial for our society and the most conspicuous one is that it has provided a medium of instant, easier and effective communication with the people sitting in any corner of the world. For example, the social networking sites like Facebook has made people interact with their long-lost friends and relatives. Moreover, the internet has become the language of business, trade, commerce and various fields which augment the knowledge of people and broaden their horizons. Thus, it is apparent why the internet has proved to be a boon to society.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of the internet on the people. The most alarming one is that people now no longer interact face to face with their family or friends and are mostly glued to the screens. A recent survey reveals that. with the rise of the dating and social websites, the divorce rates among couples have increased dramatically.Hence, there is no doubt that the internet has made people more secluded, unsocial and dull.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the impact of the internet is prominent on society although it has some minor drawbacks which can be overlooked when compared with the positives it has offered to humanity.