Recently, a debate regarding the benefits and drawbacks of learning old theater literacy has become groundswell across our education system. It is likely that many literacy researchers would promote old theater plays for art cultivation. However, many managers of business companies doubt that it would be inconsistent with modern lifestyles and what society needs. The following essay would further elaborate both sides in detail with examples.

To begin with, the prime benefit old dramas and novels help the students be aware of traditions, customs, rituals, and lifestyle of people of bygone centuries. For example, tragedies created by the great playwright Shakespeare, propelling the students back to the 16th century, in order to learn the contradiction of psychology and actions between people from different level of the society. Not only is it helpful for the students to build a habit of critical thinking, but it also prevent the past mistakes from reappearing by the students. On the other hand, old dramas played on the stage of the theater could be great practice of students for building up their confidence towards massive audience, for example, by enhancing their tone of voice during the speech. Other elements such as dancing and singing also cultivate the ability of students regarding the expression of emotions and passion.

On the flip side, the old narratives of art forms such as dramas and plays of the theater is contrast with the requirements of modern society. Students in high schools who are confronted with the future competition in either academic study or professional fields. For example, the modern job market requires a lot in operating modern technologies, teamwork and leadership. Youngsters paying too much attention towards those romantic or tragic forms of literature will be considered as detachment of the modern society, and thus, impede them from integrating into the work force.

In a nutshell, studying literature does more good than harm for the students, as long as it is well guided by our teaching system, and well balanced in the modern living style.