In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in using credit cards instead of cash, be it for buying goods and services or any other transactions. Many people claim that card-less transactions are very beneficial to the society. Others reject this notion and argue that this digital transaction is limited to urban life, not to the remote areas. In my opinion, former proposition appears to be more rational. This essay will primarily illustrate the advantages and disadvantages through a pragmatic approach and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriad of benefits which can be attributed to the usage of digital money. Firstly, the most preponderant one is that it is possible to trace the black money and illegal transaction happening in the society, thanks to the ubiquity of technology. Not only digital transaction improves transaction transparency within the country and outside as well, but it also reduces effort to carry cash and prevent one to be the victim of cash theft, thus reducing crime in the society. Therefore, needless to say, all these related advantages of the online transaction have a far-reaching positive effect on the individuals.

Notwithstanding all these merits, the cashless transaction is not without concerns. The primary one stems from the fact that people with less knowledge of digital payments, especially the older one who cannot read and write properly, are subjected to cyber fraud and losing their valuable money to online scams. Besides, people from remote areas are not literate with the computer to manage their transactions online. Hence, it hardly needs to mentions that why many are in favor of making operation based on online form.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of not using cash for any modes of payment are indeed too dire to ignore.