In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

Recently, the phenomenon of using electronic payment instead of traditional methods and its corresponding impacts sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that using credit cards is highly rewarding, such issue is regarded both thoroughly positive and constructive by a substantial number of individuals. I profoundly inclined to believe that such method could be more beneficiary for all members of the society, and this essay will examine both sides of this view by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, from the economic standpoint, using e-payment can bring many noticeable benefits for both card owners and society at the same time. Firstly, it could lead to a more secure trade for customers. Secondly, it could be a suitable replacement for cash in this fast-changing world with regard to an international banking system. Lastly, due to an academic survey conducted by the University of Victoria, using debit and credit cards could lead to decline time wasting in the traffic jam which positively related to decreasing air pollution. Thus, beneficial ramifications both socially and environmentally can be seen.

On the other hand, some opponents stand against the idea of electronic payment. They use some valid logic to support their idea. Furthermore, based on some online attacks to the online payment websites, they argued that this method could be a weak point for trade. Moreover, due to a technical survey, taking part in a prestigious financial institution in 2016, cyber-attacks have become a serious issue during these days which could lead to financial collapse for many businesses.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that using credit systems instead of cash could be beneficial and its advantages far outweigh its drawbacks. However, governments should have risen the public awareness about possible dangers and frauds which may happen to them.