Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged that the traffic problem is one of the biggest issues which the government is facing. While some people believed that building more roads will be the solution, others advocate public transport is what the office department should promote. As far as I am concerned, creating a better network of public transportation system will be more beneficial in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance of building more freeways in the cities are primarily focusing on decreasing the congestion in the urban area. Nevertheless, this argument cannot hold water. This is because most people work in a suburb close to where they live. Hence, congestion is a problem in downtowns instead of rural areas where freeways may play a role.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that the public transportation system has more advantages. First of all, it decreases the roads congestion. If more people travel by train, tram or bus, thus few cars we will have on the road. Moreover, it could decline the burning of fossil fuels, which improves the air quality and reduces our risk of suffering from illnesses related to air pollution. On the other hand, it can also reduce the carbon emission, which is the main reason for global warming and climate changes.

In a nutshell, while this controversial topic never fails to attract public attention, we can safely reach the conclusion that there is a need for government to put money in developing public transport network instead of building more roads.