In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see people indulging in the usage of the private cars across the world, be it an affluent or impoverished nation. In this essay, I will elaborate the government should encourage people to use public transport instead of using private vehicles which leads to a deluge of problems such as more cars on the road, heavy traffic jam and air pollution.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why the government should refrain from building roads to accommodate an increasing number of cars. The most conspicuous one is that pollutants from cars contribute to deteriorating the environment. Not only do they have an adverse impact on the ecology, but these also cause people to suffer from inevitable diseases; for example, pollution has reached at an alarming level in major cities of the world resulting in the prevalence of diseases increased at the all-time high.Thus, needless to say, all these demerits will have a far-reaching impact on the society and at large on the world.

Another pivotal facet of the argument is that using public transportation saves a lot of money as people do not have to buy their own cars, spend a lot of money on gas, pay for parking. For instance, an individual can save up to 70 percent of their total monthly spending by commuting through public transport. Hence, it hardly needs to mention that the associate merits of the public transport will keep an individual in a preponderant position, as far as the saving money and convenience in this raising expenses are concerned.

To recapitulate, one can conclude that the upsides of promoting the public transports by the government rather spending astronomical money behind roads are indeed too great to ignore.