In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see people preferring the video conference with doctors due to the state-of-the-art technologies across the world, be it an impoverished or affluent nation. As such, there are both merits and demerits to the given trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

At the outset, there are myriad of benefits that can be attributed to virtual communication among doctor and patients. Firstly, the most conspicuous one is that with the ubiquity of the internet, people are empowered to diagnose with a physician in their after working hours. Not only does it contribute a great deal for the convenience and require less time than visiting doctor at their place, but it is also a cost-efficient alternative due to the fierce competition and reducing travel expenses. Thus, needless to say, all these merits to consult the doctor with the help of cutting-edge technology keep people in a preponderant position.

However, another pivotal facet of the argument is that these practices are clinically risky and less acceptable to patients, and they bring significant technical and regulatory challenges. For example, according to a report in the "Journal of Medical", the number of fake doctors consulting in through telemedicine has significantly increased. Moreover, it is an encroachment in the doctor's personal space. Hence, it hardly needs to mention that the demerits of video calling can have a far-reaching impact on the society.

To recapitulate from the aforementioned arguments, one can conclude that despite having some pitfall, the upsides offered by the video conference in the doctor consultation are indeed too great to ignore.