The claim that animals have "rights" has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Within forums of animal activists and animal lovers, much debate has gone on regarding the disadvantageous of zoos. They claim that zoos are harmful to animals and would rather that animals were left free to roam in the wild. Most of the arguments have weight but still there those with good intentions when it comes to keeping animals in zoo habitats. This essay will discuss why zoos are important and should be preserved.

On one hand, we have observed people keeping animals in shelters for entertainment and profit by creating shows such as the circus. There are also instances where animals have faced mistreatment and inadequate food while in zoos. These examples are some of those which make zoos harmful for animals but these cases are minimal and animal watch hardly allows this to go on for long without the action of either closing down those zoos or changing the management of such zoos.

Conversely, there are those zoos kept for preserving almost extinct species for the purpose of breeding them to increase numbers. Orphaned animals are also protected while in these zoos as they are vulnerable to predators and hunger while on their own in the natural habitat. These reasons are far too important and necessary for continuity of life to endangered animals. Furthermore, zoos also offer employment opportunities to people who genuinely care for wildlife.

In conclusion, despite tangible reasons being given for closing down zoos the advantages of running them far outweigh the few instances where animals have been treated unfairly. In my opinion, it is of colossal importance to continue keeping zoos and employing trained, honest animal lovers to manage these zoos for the greater good of animals that need them.