Companies use advertisement to influence people to buy things sometimes which they don’t need. Give your opinion about the practices.

Nowadays, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see that marketing instrument like advertisement has become ubiquitous. There are myriad of academics who believe that such commercials encourage materialism. However, rest advocate otherwise. In this essay, I shall further elaborate both the side and lead to the plausible conclusion.

At the outset, there is a deluge of arguments which favor the above-mentioned notion that advertisements influence the purchasing decision of the consumers. Not only such attractive adverts attract people to make believe the benefits of their products, which are generally not up to the mark, but it also influences them to buy it even when such product is of no use to them. Moreover, the hefty cost of such commercials are added to the cost of the product and eventually, it is being shouldered by the consumer himself.

Another pivotal aspect of the argument is that advertisements attack the most sensitive and vulnerable section of the society that is young children and teenager, who cannot differentiate the wants from the needs. Moreover, buying the things which are not going to be used will cost not only to the buyer in terms of the money paid for the product but it will also add to the wastage of resources of the nation: a burning question across the globe.

To recapitulate, from the above-outlined arguments, one can conclude that combined efforts from the government, in terms of setting strict standards to be followed by companies in showing the accurate information about the product, and the alert consumers can alter the negative impact which advertisements do create on the mind of the customer.