A competitive environment in school and university would bring excellence and need to be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or

disagree?

Nowadays there is a huge competition in every field including education systems, business world etc. Some people argue that it is good to have competitive environment in education systems and hence it need to be encouraged. I also agree with this statement and this essay will elaborate my opinions on above statement.

To begin with, few decades ago education system was completely different than now. It is a well known factor that, nowadays there is huge competition between students not only in schools but also in universities. Especially, in some countries which offer free education, this trend is increasing day by day. This is because students want to get high marks in advance level examinations so that they can educate freely in higher education institutions. I think this is good in some aspects. Firstly, this competition makes students to study hard. Otherwise it is difficult for them to get a class or merits. On the other hand, this competitive environment make students to do more home work like reading extra books related to their subjects, referring internet to search relevant things etc. Finally, as a result of competitive environment students left universities with a class and much knowledge that they will useful in future.

In contrast, this system has its own disadvantages also. Firstly this creates selfish students who like to study and complete tasks by their own and not interested in sharing knowledge with others. This is because the only thing that in his/her mind is to be first in the class. This is really not a good trend. These types of students cannot involve in corporate work, especially in office places.

To conclude based on the above factors I think that competitive environment is good but only to some extent. If not students become more selfish and the final target of educations systems will not be achieved.