Dangerous activities like extreme skiing, bungee jumping etc. and whether you support them or not.

It is irrefutable to say that, popularity of extreme sports has continued to grow over the last decade. People would like to do some dangerous sports like scuba diving, bungee jumping, bull fighting,etc in many countries. I am inclined to believe that these sports are in fact dangerous and they should not be promoted. This essay will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of adventure sports before giving appropriate conclusion.

On one hand, people who are in favor of adventurous sports claim, the risk-taking sports help in the development of self-confidence and independence of a person. For instance, by successfully facing up the challenges of adventurous sports like rock-climbing, young people overcome with their fears. Specifically, going through a dangerous experience gives them the courage to face the hurdles of their daily life. Furthermore, there is a lot of fame and money involved in these sports. Performers get attention by doing stunts on motorcycles and jumping from tall buildings. In addition, playing such sports may considered as the symbol of manpower and something of gaining prestige in society.

On the other hand, opponents of extreme sports say that, being an extreme sportsman is very risky and dangerous. If a rope breaks while bungee jumping, for example, a participant will be seriously injured or even die. Also, equipment needed for these sports are very expensive, many people cannot purchase them which eventually increases the chance of the tragedy. Above all, youngsters who gravitate towards these types of sports could not concentrate on their studies, due to which, they were not able to complete their studies and hence not able to get lucrative jobs.

To recapitulate, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that, we can say that adventure sports have many impressive benefits including problem-solving, self-confidence and teamwork. However, it is recommended that these sports should be tried under proper guidance and supervision. The government should provide adequate knowledge about these sports to athletes so that they can protect themselves from its dangers.