There have been unending discussions regarding merits and demerits of research performed on outer space. While some people believe that it will help be beneficial for mankind in future as it would increase the human knowledge, others maintain that its a waste of time and money and we should rather focus on the immediate problems on earth. This essay will discuss why space research should be conducted and how it would beneficial for mankind in future.

It's necessary to perform space explorations to increase our knowledge about our imnmediate surroundings. As a result of increasing population, the available natural resources like water and petroleum are bound to be depleted. Underground water for examplle has been significantly reduced in volume over the last decade. Space exploration is therefore the need of the hour so as to discover a planet with a possibility of human existence.

Some people believe that space exploration is a waste of time and money and should be avoided. These people are unaware of global conditions and the rapidly increasing population. These also are uninformed regarding the depletion of natural resources. The level of pollution for instance has significantly increased and its only a matter of time until air quality is degraded uto a level that would not even support human existence.

While there are some compelling arguments for both sides, the advantages of space exploration outweighs its drawbacks. In my opinion, space exploration should be considered as a channel to unite people from different countries and work together for a social cause.